top of page

Women's History Month: Women in Film

As March is Women's History Month (or at least it is in the UK); here's a list of films directed by women. Another post may follow which will be more focused on the history of women filmmakers - crew included - but I've been pretty busy so this is all I've got currently.

 

My Favourite Films Directed by Women:

Lady Bird (2017) dir. Greta Gerwig

This is easily my favourite teenage girl, coming-of-age kinda film. Lady Bird tells the story of Christine 'Lady Bird' McPherson, a high school student from Sacramento; she's a brilliant and bold character who seems so unique to cinema, but also so real to me (and many other teenagers, I'm sure). This film is all about the cusp - it's college applications, turning eighteen, sex, drinking, realising your (lack of) privilege, smoking, masturbation, becoming your own person, learning to understand what 'home' means or is. Our protagonist longs to move away to New York and to be "where culture is", even if it means leaving all those she loves, and those who love her, behind. Saoirse's acting is incredible and the relationship her and Laurie Metcalf portray seems so raw. For many, mother-daughter relationships are funny and complicated things full of adoration, honesty and sacrifice; even if you can't relate to the relationship in terms of the situational factors, I think almost everyone would be able to compare the McPherson's relationship to their own on a deeper level. In Lady Bird, I see bits of myself, bits of my friends, the person I would like to be and the person I would not like to be. Watching this film, I can't help but wonder who I'm going to become.

I love all of Greta's work and how she makes characters seem so real through her acting and writing (Frances Ha is very high on my list of favourites - I'd recommend it), but this is another level. The amount of control this wonderful lady had on her film is so, so evident. As mentioned before, I will be posting a proper review after I've seen it (for the fifth time in general, but first time) in the cinema. In the meantime, I've splurged a whole bunch of thoughts on letterboxd.

Selma (2014) dir. Ava DuVernay

It didn't seem appropriate to make a cute little edit for this film, it's not a cute little film. It's powerful and heartbreaking. Instead I've combined a screencap from the film with a historical photo. I shouldn't have to pitch this to you. Go and watch it. Get some perspective and learn. DuVernay is brilliant. She deserved more and still does. As a woman of colour hoping to work in the film industry, I look up to her. What I will say is that I find it disgusting little opportunity there is for women and people of colour in the film industry, but for women of colour there's even less. My hope is that Hollywood start bringing in more creators and crew from wider backgrounds and walks of life, I'm getting very tired of waiting.

American Honey (2016) dir. Andrea Arnold

American Honey is one of the most striking, yet beautiful films I have ever seen. In this film, the camera follows a teenage girl, Star, as she joins a magazine sales crew on their travels. It's not an easy watch, it makes you uncomfortable, anxious for what's going to happen and it's very upsetting at times (a warning to those considering watching - there are scenes of sexual abuse), but that's also part of what makes this film so good. It explores some very real and complex themes in a naturalistic way, making it seem almost documentary-like. Star longs for independence and freedom, she wants to be her own person, but her economic situation limits her. As I said, American Honey follows Star, but I wouldn't say that it allows us to get to know Star; the film begins with unanswered questions and ends that way too. I guess this may be annoying and unfulfilling for some viewers, but for me it added verisimilitude. The film may be fictional, but the general story is anything but. Star's situation is very real, there are hundreds of young people living the way she does, trying to make money and survive any way they can, but their stories are often ignored and lost - not many people know much about them, even those that may be close to them.

This was Sasha Lane's debut which was a huge surprise to me, she was brilliant. Another thing to note, however, is the way this film is shot. The cinematography tells a story all on its own; it's all shot in an unusual aspect ratio, it somehow feels both observational and personal at the same time. There are details and small moments captured that tell us a lot and the work of Arnold as a director and Robbie Ryan as DP definitely paid off. If you can clear around three hours to watch this film undisturbed, then I'd highly recommend it.

American Psycho (2000) dir. Mary Harron

First of all I've got to make it clear that Patrick Bateman (played by Christian Bale) treats women terribly, so this may seem a little odd as a choice for a post on Women's History in Film. Even Gloria Steinem was very vocal about her negative feelings towards, both, the book and the film due to the violence against women. Yet, I've got to say that I'd be lying if I said I didn't think this was a great and entertaining film. Although Bateman is an incredibly vain, adulterous, abusive serial killer, by making the film a black comedy, Harron gives the character a sense of charm. Bale plays the central character with such confidence and charisma that audiences somehow like the rich murderer who enjoys killing people to the sounds of upbeat pop. Despite all the objectification and mistreatment of women in the film, Harron does also add more depth to them giving them a lot more strength than may have been expected.

Essentially the narrative in general is flawed and disturbing, but in my opinion it's a great film that gets me laughing out loud. It's blunt about the misconceptions of good looking, young men with their hair combed and dry-cleaned suits.

More Films Directed by Women:

Little Women (1994)

Carrie Pilby (2016)

Marie Antoinette (2006)

Pariah (2011)

Cameraperson (2016)

The Babadook (2014)

We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011)

Lost in Translation (2003)

More on Women in Film:

Pledge to watch 52 films by women here and donate

Read about women in film and educate yourself! Here are some starting points:

bottom of page