top of page

Last Years 'Stand Up to Racism' Speech in Writing

As it's coming up to this year's March Against Racism day (17th), I thought I'd share my speech from last year's local Stand Up to Racism event. (Feb 2017)

 

I am tired. I’m seventeen and I’m tired. Tired of people deciding what is and isn’t offensive for those of other religious backgrounds, nationalities and ethnicities. Yet, can I really blame them for being ignorant when the wealthy, western, white opinion has always been presented as fact. I’m tired of feeling uncomfortable when I call people out because I don’t want to fit the stereotype of ‘the angry black woman’. I’m tired of being described as ‘sassy’ when I stand up for myself or disagree with something. Of people snapping their fingers and thinking it’s appropriate to holler things like ‘Go Shaniqua!!!’ as a sense of support for me doing so.

I am fed up. I’m fed up of people being non-racist, but not anti-racist. Of people thinking that ignoring social issues will make them disappear. I’m fed up of always feeling like I need to be patient and ‘the better person’ in situations where someone refuses to let me speak or acknowledge my political opinion, as if it is of less merit than their own. I’m fed up with those disregarding the ‘BlackLivesMatter’ movement; those preaching ‘AllLivesMatter’ but when that’s the life of a refugee, or someone of another religion, a minority, “all” suddenly means something else. Something exclusive and no longer applicable. No human life is illegal.

I am still waiting. Waiting for positive and fair representation of people of colour in the creative industries. Waiting for films like ‘Hidden Figures’ or ‘Moonlight’ to get as much publicity and buzz as they are worthy of. Waiting for whitewashing to end, for minority actors and creators to get the opportunities and platforms that they deserve. I’m still waiting for people to pay attention and face the reality that is the unjust world; to understand that just because they don’t experience something, does not mean it isn’t real.

However, I am optimistic. I am optimistic that we can make change. That we can educate the ignorant, support the oppressed and give confidence to those afraid. We can speak up and demand equal treatment. To quote The Get Down, another example of unappreciated media, “The young people aren’t the problem, we’re the solution.” We need to start taking action in our own lives. If you feel strongly about an issue, talk about it, paint about it, write about it, raise awareness of it. Volunteer if you want to help people, find local charities to support. If you can’t give money, try and give time. So many of us desperate for social issues to be resolved, for more equality, but who is actually doing something about it? Do not underestimate the power of social media and definitely do not underestimate the power of your voice.

Stand up to racism, for yourselves and others. Be loud enough to wake the dead. Not to cause distress or destruction, but because they need to hear this; people are mourning them, demanding change, fighting for them. Their lives have always mattered and they still do. We need to speak up now and continue to do so. We can spark change and we will.

bottom of page