top of page

How to: Spend Your Summer Inside

Why go out and enjoy the (very unlikely in the UK) nice weather when you could stay in bed watching these great films about the people that are out enjoying the nice weather?

AKA Yazz James' favourite "summer films"

I'm lucky enough to be heading to Canada for two and a half months tomorrow morning, but I have had a few lonely summers previously, where I've found myself a bit bored and stuck inside. If you are stuck with little to do then I'd recommend something creative, or, alternatively, you could just be transported to a sunny place through these films.

Call Me by Your Name

This is easily one of my favourite films ever and definitely one that makes me want to jet off to Italy, time travel back to the eighties and laze around in a garden, writing pretentious poetry or letters to a distant friend. The settings in this film almost feel like characters themselves with each place appearing to have a personality; this film makes the summer of 1983 feel like one I've lived and look back on with great nostalgia.

Viewing Tip: I'd recommend a refreshing glass of apricot juice and a peach to go with this film.

Dazed and Confused

If you're in year 11, 12 or 13 (or any foreign equivalents) and just finishing school/exams for the summer then this should be at the top of your watchlist. Dazed and Confused is a hilarious, hyperbolic yet somehow, comically and painfully accurate depiction of teenage summers. Although we don't necessarily have strict high school stereotypes in the UK (or maybe in real life at all?) the essence of the film with underage kids attempting to get alcohol, parties and gatherings in random fields and a great soundtrack make Linklater's iconic creation fairly universal.

Viewing Tip: Watch with some friends and maybe with some drinks.

The Kings of Summer

I first watched this film in 2014, around the same time I discovered the person who I, at the time, felt was the love of my life - Nick Robinson. Although I probably only initially watched the film to stare at his face for an hour and a half, I did fall in love with it. This film worked as a form of escapism for me; I vaguely remember being fairly unhappy that summer, but this film consumed me, making me believe I was in Ohio every time I (re)watched. It's definitely flawed and a little childish, but that's part of the charm, and I would also argue the point, of The Kings of Summer - you'll understand when you watch. It's a fun and pretty ridiculous coming of age film that follows three boys who decide to runaway and live in the woods. It's been a while since I've seen it, but I know exactly how it makes me feel - though I can't really put it into words - and would encourage others to watch so that they can feel the same way.

Viewing Tip: I'd probably recommend watching this alone the first time you see it. Maybe on a day you're not in a great mood too; it made me realise that I blow things out of proportion and that I needed to stop being so self-pitiful.

Cars

I'm not even sure what to say for this film. You probably haven't watched it in a while and you definitely should revisit it. The soundtrack, the characters, the general moral of the story, Radiator Springs... it's great.

Viewing Tip: If you can somehow download this and watch it during a car journey, I imagine the viewing experience is pretty fun.

Other Films That Put Me in a Summery Mood That I Didn't Really Have the Time (or Energy tbh) to Write About:

  1. The Spectacular Now

  2. The Florida Project

  3. The To Do List

  4. Moonrise Kingdom

  5. Mamma Mia

  6. Rear Window

  7. The Outsiders

bottom of page